Cobra(-ish) Pose

Cobra-ish PoseOlympus M.Zuiko 45mm f/1.8
f/2.5
1/6400 sec
ISO 200

I think I find it more amusing that I should that there’s a lizard doing what looks like a Cobra pose…  Anyway, I have a somewhat funny story about these guys.  This is an Australian Water Dragon, an adorable and harmless creature that is really quite shy and likes to sunbake.  It is clearly NOT a Komodo dragon, the metres-long predator that could probably eat me if I encountered it.  I actually spent lots of years thinking these were Komodo dragons…. I should explain that I didn’t think that these guys would eat me, I just clearly had no idea what a Komodo dragon really was.

Moving on. I find it interesting that different types of Water Dragons seem to run differently.  Some run on all fours, but I’ve seen some hilariously hitch up on their hind legs and sprint off in that manner.  It’s adorable, even when they charge at you (the one above did, right after I took the photo).

PS: Merry Christmas all!

3 thoughts on “Cobra(-ish) Pose

  1. Pingback: Fossil legless lizard differs from snakes | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

