Abandoned Warehouse (Gakkenflex)

Warehouse GakkenGakkenflex camera, 135 film

So I was digging through some of my very old film photos that I scanned and realised that I have barely uploaded any of them.  Even though I’ve become more and more involved with my mirrorless camera and capturing with high quality optics, my blog started as a film-only endeavour, so I think it’ll be nice to post more of my old things up now.

I’ve been pretty captivated with photos that can capture a sense of abandonment, so I was pretty happy to find this old photo.  The Gakkenflex, which I used to take this photo, has naturally soft edges and I think that lends itself nicely to this style of photo.   This photo was taken in a part of town I don’t go to much, and I was honestly pretty surprised to find this building.  I think it looks great and really adds character to the area, so I hope it’s still there.  On the other hand, I have no idea if it’s in use anymore.

Hmmm, I really need to get back to film photography.  I have a half-used roll of black-and-white film in my Gakkenflex actually…. I think I put it in there about 4 years ago, so it’d be really interesting to see some of the photos I’ve taken on it already!

Leave a Reply

