Digital? Film? Why Not Both?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIf there are any readers out there who has been reading my (at times defunct) blog, you’ll know that I used to have a staunch opposition to digital cameras and particularly the use of post-processing.  I was firmly in the analogue camp and prided myself on only using film.

A few things have happened since than that have somewhat changed my mind.  Firstly, the price of getting film developed where I live has almost doubled in price, not to mention the cost of the film itself.  This alone has made it both a difficult and expensive hobby.  While a fancy mirrorless or DSLR can be expensive, the ongoing costs are obviously far less since you can selectively print the photos.  The other big thing that happened is that I had the good fortune of winning an Olympus E-P5 mirrorless micro 4/3 camera in a competition!  When I started using it, I found out that I could finally take the photos that I’ve always wanted to take but couldn’t, due to equipment limitations.  To clarify, I wasn’t limited by using film, but that I don’t own any functioning SLR film cameras.

At the same time, I realised that I was being too closed-minded about the use of digital cameras, purely out of pride.  This led me to the conclusion of: “why not use both?”.  I’ve since struck a fine balance – I use my E-P5 for times when I want to take proper, well-composed photos, and I bust out one of my film/toy cameras when I want to take fun photos.  It’s a system that’s been working fairly well and also keeps the costs of my photography hobby down a bit more.

In terms of my initial negativity against post-processing, I’ve had a little bit of a change of mind.  I’m still against the use of Photoshop to alter the contents of the image itself (eg. removing/adding objects) because I still feel like it’s kind of cheating.  However, I can understand that sometimes the exposures, white balance and colour balance need to be adjusted.  This is why I’ve started using Lightroom, which is also a fantastic way of organising all your photos.

Also, one of the main reasons for my long absence in blogging (other than a lack of time) was that it became too much of a hassle to scan all my developed photos into the computer.  With all this in mind, I will start posting some of my digital photos on here as well.  Hopefully the ease of being able to transfer from an SD card will encourage me to keep this blog more alive than I have in the past.

5 thoughts on “Digital? Film? Why Not Both?

  1. True – film is becoming ever more expensive but those willing to spend money on it, and go through the developing, get some lovely texture and one of a kind aura. Digital can’t really do that. If I were super rich and had to take engagement photos for instance, I’d definitely choose film over digital.

    Like

Leave a Reply

